Menu Search

2020 Municipal Award Winners Announced

September 9, 2020

Each year at the AUMA’s Annual Convention, outstanding municipal professionals from across Alberta are awarded for their collaboration, dedication and commitment to excellence.

“Alberta municipalities should be proud of their outstanding municipal professionals,” says AUMA President Barry Morishita. “We were once again impressed with the calibre of our award recipients. These exceptional examples of municipal leadership, collaboration, and team unity exemplify how together we can build strong Alberta communities.”

This year’s recipients include:

AUMA/SLGM Dedicated Senior Team Award: This award, which recognizes an outstanding municipal team that demonstrates service excellence and dedication to municipal government, has been awarded to the Town of Morinville.

AUMA/SLGM Dedicated CAO Award: This award, which recognizes a CAO for long‐term excellence and dedication to both municipal government and chief administrative management, has been awarded to Marian Carslon, CAO of the Town of Claresholm.

The Dedicated Senior Team and Dedicated CAO awards are co-sponsored by AUMA and the Society of Local Government Managers (SLGM), AUMA’s valued partner.

“The 2020 recipients of the Dedicated CAO and Dedicated Team awards exemplify the qualities we seek in our community leaders,” says Luana Smith, chair of the SLGM. “Both recipients are true leaders in our province. CAO Marian Carlson stood out for her impressive track record and for the significant respect by her peers. Likewise, the Town of Morinville was selected for their unwavering teamwork.”

AUMA Distinguished Service Award: Presented to elected officials of urban municipalities who have served 20 or more years on municipal council, this year’s recipients include:

  • Brian Bethune, Town of Wainwright
  • Bill McAree, Town of Whitecourt
  • Darwyn Moon, Village of Linden
  • Jim Romane, Town of Innisfail
  • J. Michael Dennehy, Town of Provost
  • Dale Gregory, Town of Provost
  • Irene Talaga, Town of Mundare
  • Yoko Fujimoto, Village of Rosemary

Above and Beyond Award: This award recognizes staff, residents or other organizations who have played a significant role in implementing a municipality’s sustainability plan and achieving the community’s goals related to environmental sustainability. This year’s recipient is the John Maude and Susan Quinn Charitable Foundation from the City of Wetaskiwin.

AUMA Award of Excellence: The Award of Excellence acknowledges outstanding civic leadership by either past or present municipal elected officials who have held office for at least three years in Alberta. This year’s winner is Mayor Sean McIntyre, Town of Sylvan Lake.

AUMA’s Municipal Sustainability Awards recognize municipalities who have demonstrated excellence in advancing environmental sustainability. This year’s Sustainability in Action Award) goes to the following recipients:

  1. AUMA Sustainability in Action Award – Municipalities with populations of under 2,500 – Village of Hythe
  2. AUMA Sustainability in Action Award – Municipalities with populations of 2,500 to 10,000 – Town of Vermilion
  3. AUMA Sustainability in Action Award – Municipalities with populations of 10,000 or more – Town of Stony Plain

Life Membership Award: This award recognizes individuals for their extraordinary contributions to AUMA over an extended period. This year’s recipients are:

  • Greg Krischke, City of Leduc
  • Craig Curtis, City of Red Deer
  • Brian Mason, City of Edmonton
  • Ray Reckseidler, Village of Delburne

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients!

Each year, we receive award nominations with examples of the excellence and professionalism of many individuals, who all play key roles in supporting their municipalities’ successes. Along with our partner, SLGM, we look forward to celebrating the winning municipal leaders and congratulating them on September 24 during the AUMA Convention.