Menu Search

Government allocates CARES money for Coal Communities

September 19, 2017

The following communities impacted by the coal phase-out are eligible to submit applications under the new Community and Regional Economic Support (CARES) program:

  • City of Spruce Grove
  • County of Paintearth No.18
  • Flagstaff County
  • Leduc County
  • Parkland County
  • Paul First Nation
  • Special Area No. 2
  • Summer Village of Seba Beach
  • Town of Castor
  • Town of Coronation
  • Town of Hanna
  • Town of Stony Plain
  • Town of Thorsby
  • Village of Forestburg
  • Village of Halkirk
  • Village of Wabamun
  • Village of Warburg
  • Village of Youngstown

Projects must align with one or more of the following program objectives to be eligible:

  • Identify social and economic impacts of proposed projects on the community or region
  • Develop and support community transition planning towards long-term economic sustainability
  • Implement Economic strategies that improve the local business environment and/or increase investment retention and attraction. 

The program is limited to a single project per applicant and must be submitted by November 30, 2017. Successful applicants will receive the money up front, will not be required to provide matching funding and will have up to two years to spend the funds.  

The Town of Hanna recently received $450,000 from CARES, but, as Hanna Mayor Chris Warwick noted, "It's a start, but more needs to be done urgently to help municipalities impacted."   

More details about the program can be found on the Coal Community Transition Fund website