Menu Search

Municipal award winners announced

September 11, 2019

Each year at the AUMA’s Annual Convention and AMSC Trade Show, outstanding municipal professionals from across Alberta are awarded for their collaboration, dedication and commitment to excellence.

“Over the past two years of my term, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting many of these municipal professionals,” says AUMA President Barry Morishita. “Alberta municipalities should feel proud of the excellence and professionalism its administrators and elected officials consistently demonstrate. I look forward to honouring this year’s award winners on September 25 during the AUMA Convention’s opening ceremonies.”

This year’s recipients include:

AUMA/SLGM Dedicated Senior Team Award: This award, which recognizes an outstanding municipal team that demonstrates service excellence and dedication to municipal government, has been awarded to the Town of Pincher Creek.

AUMA/SLGM Dedicated CAO Award: This award, which recognizes a CAO for long‐term excellence and dedication to both municipal government and chief administrative management, has been awarded to Carl McDonnell, CAO of Town of Carstairs.

The Dedicated Senior Team and Dedicated CAO awards are co-sponsored by AUMA and the Society of Local Government Managers (SLGM), AUMA’s valued partner.

“This year’s award recipients are excellent choices, in my opinion,” says Luana Smith, chair of the SLGM. “Their track-record solidly embodies professionalism and diligence in the field of public service.”

AUMA Distinguished Service Award: Presented to elected officials of urban municipalities who have served 20 or more years on municipal council, this year’s recipients include:

  • Brian Keeler, Summer Village of Norris Beach
  • Chip Olver, Town of Banff
  • Perry Hendriks, City of Beaumont
  • Ken Baker, City of Lloydminster
  • Jack Goodall, Village of Chauvin
  • Richard Poole, Town of Blackfalds

Above and Beyond Award: This award recognizes staff, residents or other organizations who have played a significant role in implementing a municipality’s sustainability plan and achieving the community’s goals related to environmental sustainability. This year’s recipient is Annette Antoniak from Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo.

AUMA Award of Excellence: The Award of Excellence acknowledges outstanding civic leadership by either past or present municipal elected officials who have held office for at least three years in Alberta. This year’s winners are Jane Stroud, Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo; Helen Posti, Town of Eckville; and Kate Patrick, Town of Mayerthorpe.

AUMA’s Municipal Sustainability Awards recognize municipalities who have demonstrated excellence in advancing environmental sustainability. This year’s Sustainability in Action Award (population over 10,000) goes to City of St. Albert for their Environment Master Plan.

The Departing Board Members Award is presented to AUMA board members who will finish their terms in September 2019. This year, AUMA recognizes Tony Caterina, the AUMA Director of Cities over 500,000, for his dedication and service to AUMA from 2017-2019.  

Life Membership Award: This award recognizes individuals for their extraordinary contributions to AUMA over an extended period of time. This year’s recipients are:

  • Bruce Rowe, Village of Beiseker
  • Melodie Stol, Town of Blackfalds
  • Rick Quail, Town of Okotoks

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients!

Each year, we receive award nominations with examples of the excellence and professionalism of many individuals, who all play key roles in supporting their municipalities’ successes.

Along with our partner, SLGM, we look forward to celebrating the winning municipal leaders, and congratulating them in person on September 25 at the Edmonton Convention Centre.